Other name: るろうに剣心 -明治剣客浪漫譚-; Rurouni Kenshin: Meiji Kenkaku Romantan; Samurai X
Written by: Nobuhiro Watsuki
Illustrated by: Nobuhiro Watsuki
Year: Jan 10, 1996 to Sep 8, 1998
Episodes: 95
Status: Completed

In the final years of the Bakumatsu era. Lived a legendary assassin known as Hitokiri Battousai. Feared as a merciless killer, he was unmatched throughout the country. But mysteriously disappeared at the peak of the Japanese Revolution. It has been ten peaceful years since then. Though the very mention of Battousai still strikes terror into the hearts of war veterans.

Unbeknownst to them, Battousai has abandoned his bloodstained lifestyle in an effort to repent for his sins. Now living as Kenshin Himura, a wandering swordsman with a cheerful attitude and a strong will. Vowing never to kill again, Kenshin dedicates himself to protecting the weak. One day, he stumbles across Kaoru Kamiya at her kendo dojo, which is being threatened by an impostor claiming to be Battousai. After receiving help from Kenshin, Kaoru allows him to stay at the dojo, and so the former assassin temporarily ceases his travels.

Rurouni Kenshin: Meiji Kenkaku Romantan tells the story of Kenshin as he strives to save those in need of saving. However, as enemies from both past and present begin to emerge, will the reformed killer be able to uphold his new ideals?

Episode 01: The Handsome Swordsman of Legend: A Man who Fights for Love

Episode 02: Kid Samurai: A Big Ordeal and a New Student

Episode 03: Swordsman of Sorrow: The Man Who Slays His Past

Episode 04: Bad! Introducing Sanosuke, Fighter-for-hire

Episode 05: The Reverse-blade Sword vs. the Zanbatou: Beyond the Battle

Episode 06: The Appearance of Kurogasa: Visitor from the Shadows

Episode 07: Deathmatch under the Moon! Protect the One You Love

Episode 08: A New Battle! The Mysterious Beauty From Nowhere

Episode 09: The Strongest Group of Ninjas: The Dreaded Oniwabanshu

Episode 10: Aoshi: Someone so Beautiful it’s Frightening

Episode 11: Farewell, the Strongest Men: The Clash of Light and Shadow

Episode 12: Birth of a Boy Swordsman: The Battle of First Apprentice Yahiko

Episode 13: Strive for the Grand Championship: Toramaru’s Sumo Battle Log!

Episode 14: To Save a Small Life: Lady Doctor Megumi to the Rescue

Episode 15: Assassination Group of Fire Jinpuu Squad on the Run

Episode 16: A Promise from the Heart Take a Pledge!

Episode 17: Blast to Your Dream: The Adventure of Marimo the Flying Bullet

Episode 18: Get Back the Reverse-Blade Sword Run!

Episode 19: Raijuuta’s Desire- Vision of a Forbidden Empire

Episode 20: Revival of the Shinko Style: Revival of the Killer Sword – Shinko Style

Episode 21: The Dissolution of a Nightmare: Raijuta’s Ambition Concludes

Episode 22: The Dissolution of a Nightmare: Raijuta’s Ambition Concludes

Episode 23: Sanosukes Betrayal: The Fateful Reunion

Episode 24: Midnight Battle: Sanosuke Versus Kenshin Revisited

Episode 25: The Crimson Pirate: Kenshin and Kaoru Separated

Episode 26: Lightning Incarnate: The Noble and Mysterious Female Pirate, Shura

Episode 27: Burn, Island of Terror: The Crimson Pirate Chapter Concludes

Episode 28: Prelude to the Impending Fight: The Shadow of the Wolf Draws Near

Episode 29: The Strongest Opponent From the Past: Merciless Fangs Strike!

Episode 30: A Devil of Vengeance: Makoto Shishio’s Plot

Episode 31: A Wish Unrequited: Kenshin Departs

Episode 32: Change Tears to Courage: Kaoru Kamiya’s Choice

Episode 33: For the Title of Strongest: Aoshi’s New Conflict

Episode 34: The Girl Bandit: Misao Makimachi’s Hidden Side

Episode 35: Conquered Village: The Grasp of Shishio’s Hands

Episode 36: Across the Boundary Between Edo and Meiji

Episode 37: Shock! The Reverse-Blade is Broken

Episode 38: Sanosuke’s Secret Training: The Challenge of Anji the Destroyer

Episode 39: The Creator of the Reverse-Blade Sword: Shakku Arai’s Final Swing

Episode 40: A Killer Without Mercy

Episode 41: The Ultimate Technique of the Hiten-Mitsurugi Style

Episode 42: The Formation of an Alliance: The Day When Aoshi Joins with Shishio

Episode 43: Between Life and Death: Master the Ultimate Technique

Episode 44: A Decisive Battle Like Violent Waters: The Strongest Troop Juppongatana

Episode 45: As if to Fly: Stop the Launch of the Battleship Purgatory!

Episode 46: Purgatory Bursts into Flames: The Destiny of Makoto Shishio

Episode 47: Crash! The Lethal Punch, Futae no Kiwami: The Fist of Sonosuke Screams!

Episode 48: Reborn to Salvation: The Beginning of Anji’s New Life

Episode 49: The Wolf Destroys the Eye of the Heart

Episode 50: The Promised Time Has Come: Aoshi and Kenshin Fight Again

Episode 51: Wake Up Now! Ignore Your Wounds and Fight to the Finish

Episode 52: To Make a Miracle: The Battle at the Aoiya

Episode 53: The Giant Versus Superman: Like an Arrow Shot at a Time of Despair

Episode 54: Hiten Versus Shukuchi: Sojiro’s Inborn Talent

Episode 55: The Tragedy of a Stormy Night: Sojiro’s Past

Episode 56: A Duel With an Extreme Moment: Shuntensatsu Versus Amakakeru Ryu no Hirameki

Episode 57: Two Men at the End of an Era: Shishio Versus Kenshin, Final Battle

Episode 58: The Age Chooses Shishio? Kenshin’s Greatest Crisis

Episode 59: Not Out of Luck! The Revival of a Fighting Spirit

Episode 60: The Man Who is Chosen for Victory: Shishio Versus Kenshin, Finale

Episode 61: The Juppongatana Who Remain: A Choice for Life

Episode 62: Kyoto, the Engraved Memory

Episode 63: The Legend of the Fireflies: A Girl Who Waits For Her Love

Episode 64: The Birth of Prince Yahiko? An Elegant debut into Society

Episode 65: Find the Lost Treasure! The Great Detective Dog Notaro

Episode 66: Kaoru- Ecstatic! Kenshin’s Proposal?

Episode 67: The Gleaming Blade of Legends! The Mystic Swordsman Shougo Amakusa

Episode 68: The Medallion of Destiny: The First Meeting of Sanosuke and Sayo

Episode 69: To the Battlefield of Shimabara: The Moment of Decisive Battle

Episode 70: Shock of the Rai Ryu Sen! Kenshin sent into Darkness

Episode 71: The Conspiracy of Kaiou: Shougo Caught in a Trap

Episode 72: Days of Remorse: The Sad Past of Shougo and Sayo

Episode 73: The Sneering Demon: Shouzo and Karyu Scattered in the Explosive Flames

Episode 74: Sanosuke’s Tears: An Eternal Farewell Befalls the Two

Episode 75: The Last Crusade: Two Amakakeru Ryu no Hirameki Clash!

Episode 76: Bon Voyage: Hope Overcomes the Melancholy Waves

Episode 77: There’s a Himura Dojo in Shimonoseki? Another Battousai Appears!

Episode 78: The Artist’s Crush: A Romantic Spree at the Hakone Hot Spring

Episode 79: Kaishu-Katsu and Kenshin: The Destiny of Two Men who Survived the Revolution

Episode 80: The Unending Revolution: A Destiny Forced Upon Kaishu

Episode 81: Conspiracy of the Beni-aoi: The Living Ghost of the Revolution Targets Kaishu!

Episode 82: Kaishu-Katsu’s Determination: The Truth that Lived Through the Times

Episode 83: Yutaro Returns: The Conspiracy of the Shadow Swordsmen

Episode 84: The Sanada Ninja Squad and the Elixir: Misanagi’s Driving Quest

Episode 85: A Straying Journey: The Trap of the Divine Crossing!

Episode 86: A Heatwave From Beneath the Earth: The Three Sanada Demons!

Episode 87: Schneider’s Bet: The Collapse of the Black Nights!

Episode 88: The Two Guides: Yahiko and Yutaro’s Eternal Vow

Episode 89: To My Angel Misao…Special Delivery from Kyoto

Episode 90: Feng Shui, Surprise Attack! The Mystery of the Pentagram Spread!

Episode 91: The Magic of Feng Shui: Kamiya Dojo is Targeted!

Episode 92: Tokyo Under Martial Law! The Deadly Ryu Myaku

Episode 93: The Enemy Awaits in Senjo Gahara: In Search of the Jade Crest

Episode 94: The Elegy of Wind and Water: A Last Desperate Effort!

Episode 95: End of Wanderings: The Bond of Scarlet and Azure is in the Sound of the Sea