Written by: Tsugumi Ohba
Illustrated by: Takeshi Obata
Year: 2006-2008
Seasons: 2
Episodes: 37
Status: Complete

Yagami Light is a 17-year-old genius from Japan. Who is tired of his life, school, and the state of the world as he knows it. One day, on the way home from class, Light stumbles upon a dark notebook with “Death Note” written on the front.

Intrigued by its appearance, Light reads the first few sentences. Only to find out that it states that anyone whose name is written inside will die. Discarding it as a joke, Light continues his daily activities.

Soon after though, his human curiosity takes the better of him. Which prompts Light to try the notebook, discovering the truth behind first sentence. Now, with power in his hands, Yagami Light is on a quest. To change the world and become God of the New World.

His path to holy status won’t be easy. However, as another genius, known as L, is working against Light’s beliefs and Light himself. Who will win this power of Gods between humans?

Episode 01: Rebirth

Episode 02: Confrontation

Episode 03: Dealings

Episode 04: Pursuit

Episode 05: Tactics

Episode 06: Unraveling

Episode 07: Overcast

Episode 08: Glare

Episode 09: Encounter

Episode 10: Doubt

Episode 11: Assault

Episode 12: Love

Episode 13: Confessions

Episode 14: Friend

Episode 15: Wager