Written & Illustrated by: Kentaro Miura
Directed by: ‎Naohito Takahashi
Year: Oct , 1997- Mar 3, 1998
Episodes: 24
Status: Completed

It was introduced in 1997 where it was first broadcasted on Nippon Television in Japan. The series, despite removing plot-threads and key characters, was viewed as a critical and commercial success.

A brave young warrior named Guts fights for his fortune as a mercenary on the front lines. A fated encounter unites Guts with the charismatic and deadly young man named Griffith. Leading the rogue soldiers known as the Band of the Hawk, Griffith wields his formidable force like no other.

Driven by a quest for status, the Hawks exert military and social prowess the likes of which have never been seen before. Armies of Midland will quake with fear as Griffith and Guts set off on a path that will bring the world to its knees.

Episode 01: The Black Swordsman

Episode 02: Band of the Hawk

Episode 03: First Battle

Episode 04: The Hand of God

Episode 05: A Wind of Swords

Episode 06: Zodd the Immortal

Episode 07: The Sword’s Owner

Episode 08: Reunion in the Den of Evil

Episode 09: Blood Flow of the Dead

Episode 10: Hell’s Angels

Episode 11: Shadows of Idea

Episode 12: Those Who Cling, Those Who Struggle

Episode 13: The Rent World

Episode 14: Winter Journey

Episode 15: Banner of the Flying Sword

Episode 16: Forest of Demonic Beasts

Episode 17: The Astral World

Episode 18: Struggle Against the Demon Horde

Episode 19: The Arcana of Invocation

Episode 20: The Corruption of Qliphoth

Episode 21: The Berserker Armor

Episode 22: A Journey Begins in Flames

Episode 24: City of Humans

Episode 25: Time of Eternity